British F3 - Donington Park - 10 / 11 July

Event Live:
Oulton Park
11 / 12 September

Event Live:
Oulton Park
11 / 12 September

Donington Park

10 / 11 July


Zak O’Sullivan claimed a double pole position, with his overall fastest lap of 1m24.690s being just 0.016s quicker in the session than Hitech’s Bart Horsten.  But with penalties applied for track limits transgressions, Reece Ushijima was ultimately classified second with Arden’s Alex Connor third. 

O’Sullivan was metronomic throughout the session, as he constantly shaved a tenth or two off his best time with each lap, setting his best time with just over a minute remaining on the clock. A close session saw 11 drivers lap within a second of the outright pace, and the entire field covered by 1.3 seconds. 

With the grid for race two decided on each driver’s second fastest times, O’Sullivan secured pole for race two as well, with his second best effort being nearly three tenths of a second faster than Connor. 

Race one
An opening lap battle between O’Sullivan and Ushijima was the main focal point of the opening race. O’Sullivan’s start wasn’t quite as good as Ushijima’s, with the Japanese driver holding the lead on the approach to Redgate. 

The Hitech driver out braked himself though, allowing O’Sullivan to draw alongside on the run down the Craner Curves. The pair briefly interlocked wheels, but the Carlin driver was just able to sneak up the inside at the Old Hairpin.

From there, the championship leader was able to build a gap, leading by 1.4 seconds at the end of the first lap, three seconds at the halfway point, and 4.9 seconds at the chequered flag. 

Ushijima claimed second to strengthen his championship charge, while Connor claimed his second successive podium with third.  

Race two
O’Sullivan secured his second win of the weekend in Sunday morning's encounter, resisting race-long pressure from Connor, who was on the podium for the second time in two days.

O’Sullivan led from start to finish, and was handed a bonus in the early title race as Ushijima was forced into his first retirement of the year after a collision with teammate Horsten, who was penalised for the incident.

Until that point, the top four of O’Sullivan, Connor, Ushijima and Horsten had been within a second and a half, but the late collision promoted Fortec’s Roberto Faria to third.

Javier Sagrera (Elite), Roman Bilinski (Arden) and Christian Mansell (Carlin) completed the top-six. 

Race three
Chris Dittmann Racing's Max Marzorati made the best start from the front row, but Fortec's Mikkel Grundtvig closed up after an early safety car period, after title contenders O’Sullivan and Ushijima dramatically collided exiting the Esses on lap two and retired. 

Marzorati made a good restart, but Grundtvig soon found a way past and pulled away from Marzorati, who was busy fending off the attentions of Sebastian Alvarez, while Tom Lebbon had charged from 10th on the grid to fourth.

Grundtvig won by two seconds, while Marzorati held off the extreme pressure from Alvarez to claim his first podium with second. Alvarez picked up a penalty for exceeding track limits though, handing Lebbon his first rostrum in the process. 

Despite his first retirement of the year, O’Sullivan holds a 47 point lead at the top of the standings after nine races, with Ushijima second and Connor moving into third. 

Circuit details

Circuit: Donington Park GP
Length: 2.498 miles/4.020 km

Address: Donington Park, Castle Donington, Derby, DE74 2BN


Click here to purchase tickets. 


09.35-10.05 - Test session one
10.45-11.15 - Test session two
13.20-13.50 - Test session three
15.30-16.00 - Test session four

10.45-11.25 - Test session one
15.30-16.10 - Test session two

11.00-11.20 - Qualifying
14.20-14.40 - Race one

10.15-10.35 - Race two
15.40-16.00 - Race three

Circuit hotspots

Previous results

Qualifying: Ben Hingeley (1m43.539s)
Race One: Matheus Leist
Race Two: Toby Sowery
Race Three: Toby Sowery

Fastest Lap: Toby Sowery, 1m25.250s

Qualifying: Ben Hingeley (1m25.108s)
Race One: Ben Hingeley
Race Two: Jordan Cane
Race Three: Enaam Ahmed

Fastest Lap: Cameron Das, 1m25.165s

Qualifying: Billy Monger (1m24.769s)
Race One: Nicolai Kjaergaard
Race Two: Sun Yue Yang
Race Three: Nicolai Kjaergaard

Fastest Lap: Nicolai Kjaergaard, 1m25.815s

Qualifying: Johnathan Hoggard (1m25.007s)
Race One: Johnathan Hoggard
Race Two: Josh Mason
Race Three: Johnathan Hoggard

Fastest lap: Johnathan Hoggard, 1m25.379s

2019 (2)
Qualifying: Johnathan Hoggard (1m24.992s)
Race One: Johnathan Hoggard
Race Two: Nazim Azman
Race Three: Johnathan Hoggard

Fastest lap: Johnathan Hoggard 1m24.968s


2020 (1)
Qualifying: Kaylen Frederick (1m25.085s)
Race One: Louis Foster
Race Two: Ulysse De Pauw
Race Three: Kaylen Frederick

Fastest lap: Ulysse De Pauw (1m25.526s)

2020 (2)
Qualifying: Kaylen Frederick (1m24.804s)
Race One: Kaylen Frederick
Race Two: Louis Foster
Race Three: Kush Maini

Fastest lap: Reece Ushijima (1m25.095s)

2020 (National Circuit) 
Qualifying: Kaylen Frederick (1m03.066s)
Race One: Kaylen Frederick
Race Two: Nazim Azman
Race Three: Kaylen Frederick

Fastest lap: Kaylen Frederick (1m02.677s)

2021 Team Standings

Race 3
Oulton Park

1. Bilinski, R 12 laps
2. Grundtvig, M +8.150s
3. Lubin, F +11.200s
4. Sagrera, J +11.638s
5. Alvarez, S +18.086s
6. O'Sullivan, Z +18.550s
7. Simmons, A +18.985s
8. Lebbon, T +24.531s
9. Browne, J +25.052s
10. Faria, R +31.014s
Click here for full classification

Race 2
Oulton Park

1. Browning, L 10 laps
2. Horsten, B +1.516s
3. Mansell, C +2.044s
4. Simmons, A +4.563s
5. Ushijima, R +9.880s
6. Lubin, F +17.394s
7. Lebbon, T +17.684s
8. Aron, B +19.783s
9. Browne, J +20.361s
10. Juffali, R +22.643s
Click here for full classification

Race 1
Oulton Park

1. O'Sullivan, Z 13 laps
2. Simmons, A +4.415s
3. Faria, R +7.354s
4. Horsten, B +8.511s
5. Mansell, C +8.945s
6. Ushijima, R +10.006s
7. Sagrera, J +13.301s
8. Oxley, B +15.683s
9. Alvarez, S +21.298s
10. Lebbon, T +22.023s
Click here for full classification