British F3 - Silverstone GP - 26 / 27 June

Event Live:
Oulton Park
11 / 12 September

Event Live:
Oulton Park
11 / 12 September

Silverstone GP

26 / 27 June

Event report

Japanese-American driver Reece Ushijima left it late in qualifying to secure his first ever British F3 pole positions. His best lap came with just 20 seconds left on the clock, and was just six hundredths of a second quicker than O’Sullivan, who claimed second on the grid ahead of Arden’s Frederick Lubin.

Horsten was fourth quickest, a quarter of a second off pole, with Javier Sagrera fifth for Elite Motorsport and Christian Mansell sixth for Carlin. 

Just three quarters of a second covered the top-11 drivers on the grid, despite Silverstone being the second longest circuit on the calendar. 

Ushijima’s second fastest time meant he also secured pole for race two tomorrow morning, as he headed the second fastest timesheets by almost two tenths of a second over Lubin, with O’Sullivan third. 

Race one
Ushijima made a strong start from pole, cutting across the front of O’Sullivan to ensure he led on the run down to Copse on lap one. 

The Japanese driver held the upper hand through the first half of the race, extending a gap of over a second to the British driver by the mid-point. But on lap seven O’Sullivan carved the gap down to half a second, and then threatened until the end of the race, with Ushijima taking his first British F3 win by just 0.382s.

Horsten was combative on the first lap to move past Lubin, and claimed third. The Australian finished less than a second further back, having been over three seconds in arrears at the end of the opening lap. 

Sagrera and Faria completed the race one top-five. 

Race two
Ushijima started from pole for the second time this weekend, with the grid based on each driver’s second fastest time from qualifying. The Hitech driver made another good start to hold the lead while Carlin’s Zak O’Sullivan again slotted into second in a near mirror image of yesterday’s opening race. 

This time Ushijima’s victory was more comfortable, and it was O’Sullivan coming under pressure in the final stages as Roberto Faria surged from sixth on the grid to third on the opening lap, and then closed right up to O’Sullivan on the final lap. 

Frederick Lubin claimed fourth for Arden despite a 10 second time penalty for exceeding track limits, with Elite Motorsport’s Sagrera fifth ahead of Hitech’s Bart Horsten. The Australian was one of the stars of the race as he blasted from 15th on the grid to sixth. 

Race three
Simmons started fourth on the grid for the race three, but found his way into second place by the end of lap one and moved past teammate Max Marzorati at Brooklands to take the lead next time around. 

From there he built a small gap over Alex Connor who had moved into second after Marzorati had been wiped out of the race by Carlin’s Bryce Aron, while Faria moved from 10th on the grid into third once more. 

A safety car was deployed mid race after a collision between Bart Horsten and Mikkel Grundtvig, and when it pitted at the end of lap seven, there was only time for two racing laps. Simmons made a good restart, but Connor closed right up at the end of the race, with Faria following suit. Simmons ultimately claimed his second win of the year by just 0.281s, with the top three drivers covered by half a second. 

In the championship standings, O’Sullivan holds a narrow six point lead over double winner Ushijima, while Faria’s double podium

Circuit details

Circuit: Silverstone GP
Length: 3.661 miles/5.891 km

Address: Silverstone Circuit, Towcester, Northamptonshire, NN12 8TN


Tickets are available by clicking here



Test 1: 09.00-09.45
Test 2: 10.40-11.25
Test 3: 13.15-14.00
Test 4: 14.55-15.40


Test 1: 12.50-13.25
Test 2: 15.10-15.45


Qualifying: 11.10-11.30
Race one: 15.25-15.45


Race two: 10.10-10.30
Race three: 16.15-16.35

Times are provisional and subject to change

Circuit hotspots

Previous results

Qualifying: Thomas Randle (1m56.808s)
Race One: Matheus Leist
Race Two: Toby Sowery
Race Three: Cancelled

Fastest Lap: Matheus Leist, 1m57.126s, race one

Qualifying: Toby Sowery (1m57.146s)
Race One: Toby Sowery
Race Two: Ben Hingeley
Race Three: Toby Sowery

Fastest Lap: Toby Sowery, (1m57.152s)

Qualifying: Linus Lundqvist (1m56.692s)
Race One: Linus Lundqvist
Race Two: Pavan Ravishankar
Race Three: Tom Gamble

Fastest Lap: Tom Gamble, (1m56.845s)

2018 (2)
Qualifying: Linus Lundqvist (2m13.240s)
Race One: Linus Lundqvist
Race Two: Josh Mason (two laps under safety car)
Race Three: Cancelled

Fastest Lap: Linus Lundqvist, (1m58.879s)

2019 (1)
Qualifying: Clement Novalak (2m16.616s)
Race One: Clement Novalak
Race Two: Benjamin Pedersen
Race Three: Ayrton Simmons

Fastest Lap: Ayrton Simmons, (1m58.131s)

2019 (2)
Qualifying: Clement Novalak (1m55.845s)
Race One: Sasakorn Chaimongkol
Race Two: Manuel Maldonado
Race Three: Ayrton Simmons

Fastest Lap: Ayrton Simmons, (1m56.223s)

Qualifying: Kaylen Frederick (1m54.354s)
Race One: Kaylen Frederick
Race Two: Benjamin Pedersen
Race Three: Kaylen Frederick

Fastest Lap: Kaylen Frederick, (1m54.406s)

2021 Team Standings

Race 3
Oulton Park

1. Bilinski, R 12 laps
2. Grundtvig, M +8.150s
3. Lubin, F +11.200s
4. Sagrera, J +11.638s
5. Alvarez, S +18.086s
6. O'Sullivan, Z +18.550s
7. Simmons, A +18.985s
8. Lebbon, T +24.531s
9. Browne, J +25.052s
10. Faria, R +31.014s
Click here for full classification

Race 2
Oulton Park

1. Browning, L 10 laps
2. Horsten, B +1.516s
3. Mansell, C +2.044s
4. Simmons, A +4.563s
5. Ushijima, R +9.880s
6. Lubin, F +17.394s
7. Lebbon, T +17.684s
8. Aron, B +19.783s
9. Browne, J +20.361s
10. Juffali, R +22.643s
Click here for full classification

Race 1
Oulton Park

1. O'Sullivan, Z 13 laps
2. Simmons, A +4.415s
3. Faria, R +7.354s
4. Horsten, B +8.511s
5. Mansell, C +8.945s
6. Ushijima, R +10.006s
7. Sagrera, J +13.301s
8. Oxley, B +15.683s
9. Alvarez, S +21.298s
10. Lebbon, T +22.023s
Click here for full classification