British F3 - Race 1: O’Sullivan wins the title in style with lights to flag victory

Next Event:
Oulton Park
16 / 18 April

Next Event:
Oulton Park
16 / 18 April

Race 1: O’Sullivan wins the title in style with lights to flag victory

Race 1: O’Sullivan wins the title in style with lights to flag victory

Saturday 16 October 2021

Zak O’Sullivan is the 2021 GB3 champion, after a commanding lights to flag win in race one at Donington Park.

The 16-year-old simply needed to finish the race to wrap up the title, but led every lap to clinch his first title in car racing, taking the chequered flag almost a second clear of Hitech GP’s Reece Ushijima.

After taking pole position in qualifying, the Carlin driver had a bit of wheelspin off the line, which brought Ushijima alongside him at Redgate corner. In a repeat of their antics at the same sequence in July, the pair went wheel to wheel through the Craner Curves, with O’Sullivan holding his nerve to take the inside line at the Old Hairpin and hold the lead.

His first lap margin was wiped out though by trouble immediately behind him, as Sebastian Alvarez (Hitech), Christian Mansell (Carlin), Ayrton Simmons (CDR) and Roberto Faria (Fortec) all came to grief at McLeans, while Alvarez’s teammate Bart Horsten, who had started on the front row also picked up damage.

All bar Alvarez managed to claw their way back onto the circuit, but the safety car was deployed to recover the Mexican’s car and also the stranded Douglas Motorsport car of Reema Juffali after she was hit from behind by teammate Tommy Smith at the Melbourne Hairpin.

Racing resumed at the start of lap four, with O’Sullivan and Ushijima immediately pulling away from the opposition. The pair operated nose to tail throughout the contest, with as little as four tenths of a second separating them at times, before O’Sullivan gradually pulled away to clinch his sixth win of the season and wrap up the title, 0.961s ahead of the Japanese driver.

The lead duo finished almost six seconds clear of Arden’s Roman Bilinski, who claimed yet another podium, but less than half a second ahead of Chris Dittmann Racing’s Branden Oxley, who was a major beneficiary of the opening lap drama to climb from 10th on the grid to fourth, his best result yet.

Tom Lebbon climbed from ninth to fifth for Elite Motorsport, ahead of Carlin’s Bryce Aron who had started 12th.

Elite’s Javier Sagrera converted 14th on the grid to seventh ahead of Arden’s Frederick Lubin who had started 15th, while Alex Fores shot from 18th to ninth. Series newcomer James Hedley completed the top-10 for Elite Motorsport.

Of the 21 cars that started, 18 finished, with newcomers Eduardo Coseteng (Fortec) and Flynn Jackes (Hillspeed) 16th and 17th.

GB3 Championship in association with the BRDC, Donington Park, race one result:
1. Zak O’Sullivan, Carlin, 12 laps
2. Reece Ushijima, Hitech GP, +0.961s
3. Roman Bilinski, Arden Motorsport, +6.733s
4. Branden Oxley, Chris Dittmann Racing, +7.222s
5. Tom Lebbon, Elite Motorsport, +7.991s
6. Bryce Aron, Carlin, +9.215s
7. Javier Sagrera, Elite Motorsport, +9.696s
8. Frederick Lubin, Arden Motorsport, +13.089s
9. Alex Fores, Chris Dittmann Racing, +13.834s
10. James Hedley, Elite Motorsport, +14.503s
11. Ayrton Simmons, Chris Dittmann Racing, +14.776s
12. Roberto Faria, Fortec Motorsports, +15.528s
13. Christian Mansell, Carlin, +17.236s
14. Mikkel Grundtvig, Fortec Motorsports, +17.888s
15. Jonathan Browne, Hillspeed, +20.214s
16. Eduardo Coseteng, Fortec Motorsports, +21.783s
17. Flynn Jackes, Hillspeed, +22.267s
18. Bart Horsten, Hitech GP, +38.529s
DNF. Tommy Smith, Douglas Motorsport, 1 lap completed
DNF. Sebastian Alvarez, Hitech GP, 0 laps
DNF. Reema Juffali, Douglas Motorsport, 0 laps

Other Recent News