British F3 Team - Hillspeed


Firmly established as one of the most successful teams in UK motorsport, Hillspeed has been part of the BRDC British Formula 3 Championship and the predecessor BRDC Formula 4 Championship since the category was first established in 2013 by MSV.

Based in Hathersage, Derbyshire, the team – which is led by Richard Ollerenshaw – has enjoyed considerable success over the years, helping to develop the careers of some of motorsport’s most successful drivers.

Winning the Formula Renault BARC title in 2010 with Alice Powell, who went on to race in GP3, Hillspeed also claimed the Ginetta Junior crown in 2010 and 2011 with Tom Ingram [2017 BTCC Independents Trophy Champion] and Seb Morris [2017 British GT Champion] respectively.

Other notable names to have risen through Hillspeed’s ranks include reigning Blancpain Endurance Series Pro-Am Champion Ahmad Al Harthy and Super GT race winner Sean Walkinshaw. Professional drivers Alexander Sims and Nick Tandy also had their maiden ‘slicks and wings’ test with Hillspeed.

In the early noughties, the team also enjoyed great success in Formula Renault UK and was the dominant force in the ARP F3 Championship [now known as F3 Cup] with back-to-back title victories in 2000 and 2001.

Entering a new era in the team’s history when choosing to compete in BRDC F4 in 2013, the squad immediately became a podium finishing force and quickly started to achieve race wins. In the inaugural season, Seb Morris was Vice-Champion for Hillspeed and Jake Cook went on to finish as Vice-Champion for the team in the end-of-year Winter Championship.

Race winners in 2014 and continued podium finishers in 2015, Hillspeed renewed its commitment to the category when it was rebranded as BRDC British F3 ahead of the 2016 season with the purchase of three of the brand new Tatuus-Cosworth cars. Following a developmental season with a team of rookie drivers in the inaugural year of BRDC British F3, the team returned to the podium in 2017.

Team Profile

“Hillspeed is very proud to be part of the BRDC British Formula 3 Championship, it’s the perfect stepping stone from Formula 4 and ideal preparation for drivers looking to move on to European F3, GP3 and also GT and sportscar racing.

“As with everything MSV does, BRDC British F3 is an incredibly well organised championship and the Tatuus-Cosworth is a fantastic car. Hillspeed has always been about driver development and the best preparation and that’s what we offer our drivers in F3.”

Richard Ollerenshaw, Team Principal – Hillspeed

Other Championships Formula Renault 2.0 BARC, Ginetta Juniors, VW Fun Cup
Time in Championship 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017

Contact Details

Team Principal Richard Ollerenshaw
Address Unit 7,
Hathersage Business Park,
Heather Lane,
Hope Valley,
S32 1DP
Telephone 01433 650 400