Lebbon wins at Browning wraps up title at Donington Park

Lebbon wins at Browning wraps up title at Donington Park

16 October 2022

Elite’s Tom Lebbon claimed victory in the second GB3 race of the weekend, while Luke Browning provisionally claimed the title with second place thanks to Joel Granfors finishing outside the top-10.

Heading into the race, Browning needed to finish a handful of places clear of Granfors to wrap up the title, but with Granfors one place ahead on the grid, he just needed to stay ahead to take the fight to race three.

And at the start, in damp conditions, Browning’s title looked so unlikely as Granfors blasted into the lead from fourth on the grid, while Browning dropped to sixth from fifth on the grid.

But it was clear that Tom Lebbon, who had climbed to second, was faster than the Swede, and he forced his way through into the lead on lap three.

It still looked good for Granfors though, as Browning, who had climbed to third by now, was demoted to fourth by polesitter Callum Voisin, but the pair found their way past the Swede on lap five, and from there, Granfors dropped through the field like a stone, while Browning pressured and passed Voisin on lap eight.

By now, Lebbon was already two seconds clear, and he kept that margin to the flag, while Browning celebrated his second British title with second place, ahead of teammate Bryce Aron who used his slick tyres to good effect to climb up to third, having fallen to 14th on the first lap.

McKenzy Cresswell looked good for a podium but took fourth ahead of the third Hitech car of Cian Shields.

Matthew Rees, another on slicks, had a spectacular recovery from a spin to take sixth ahead of Arden VRD’s Nico Christodoulou, with Max Esterson (Douglas), Voisin (Carlin) and Zak Taylor (Chris Dittmann Racing) completing the top-10.

GB3 Championship, partnered by the BRDC, provisional race two result:
1.    Tom Lebbon, Elite Motorsport, 13 Laps
2.    Luke Browning, Hitech GP +1.952
3.    Bryce Aron, Hitech GP, +2.684
4.    McKenzy Cresswell, Chris Dittmann Racing, +5.655
5.    Cian Shields, Hitech GP, Hitech GP, +5.756
6.    Matthew Rees, JHR Developments, +8.180
7.    Nico Christodoulou, Arden Motorsport, +9.215
8.    Max Esterson, Douglas Motorsport, +12.988
9.    Callum Voisin, Carlin, +13.379
10.    Zak Taylor, Chris Dittmann Racing, +20.233
11.    David Morales, Arden Motorsport, +22.886
12.    Ayato Iwasaki, Elite Motorsport, +31.353
13.    Joel Granfors, Fortec Motorsport, +33.501
14.    Roberto Faria, Carlin, +33.889
15.    Nick Gilkes, Hillspeed, +35.125
16.    Javier Sagrera, Carlin, +39.606
17.    Mikkel Grundtvig, Fortec Motorsport, +48.708
18.    Alex Connor, Arden Motorsport, +49.069
DNF Tommy Smith, Douglas Motorsport
DNF John Bennett, Elite Motorsport