Ping powers to GB3 victory as top two collide at Snetterton

Ping powers to GB3 victory as top two collide at Snetterton

18 June 2023

Arden VRD’s Noah Ping claimed his second GB3 Championship victory of the season in race two at Snetterton this morning.

Ping started fourth on the grid, but found his way up to third early on and was in position to benefit when the lead duo of Callum Voisin and Tymek Kucharczyk collided at Wilson on lap five.

Pole sitter Voisin and front row starter Kucharczyk had battled for the early part of the race, and after Kucharczyk attempted a move at Wilson on lap four, he really went for it on lap five, only to make contact. Voisin was eliminated on the spot, while Kucharczyk returned to the track in third behind Hitech Pulse-Eight’s Alex Dunne.

After a safety car to recover Voisin's car, Ping controlled the restart and took the flag after two further racing laps, 0.355s ahead of Dunne, with Kucharczyk still taking third. 

After winning race one yesterday, Arden VRD's James Hedley took fourth from seventh on the grid ahead of race one pole-sitter Matthew Rees, with Elite's McKenzy Cresswell sixth. 

Rodin Carlin's Costa Toparis finished seventh, four tenths of a second ahead of Chris Dittmann Racing's Zak Taylor, with Michael Shin (Hitech) and Nico Christodoulou (Arden VRD) completing the top-10.

The fortunes of the championship leaders swung one way and another as various incidents unfolded. Voisin had been poised to extend the championship lead he gained yesterday, but the lap five drama looked to have handed the initiative back to JHR's Joseph Loake, only for the former championship leader to spin off at Riches on the last lap while battling with Cresswell, and rejoining 23rd.  All that means Dunne now holds a 10 point advantage at the top, following his latest podium.

The third GB3 Championship race of the weekend at Snetterton is due to commence at 14.20.  

GB3 Championship, partnered by the BRDC, Snetterton race two provisional result:
1.    Noah Ping, Arden VRD, 10 laps 
2.    Alex Dunne, Hitech Pulse-Eight, +0.355 
3.    Tymek Kucharczyk, Douglas Motorsport, +0.987 
4.    James Hedley, Arden VRD, +1.671 
5.    Matthew Rees, JHR Developments, +2.226 
6.    McKenzy Cresswell, Elite Motorsport, +3.493 
7.    Costa Toparis, Rodin Carlin, +4.204 
8.    Zak Taylor, Chris Dittmann Racing, +4.637 
9.    Michael Shin, Hitech Pulse-Eight, +5.185 
10.    Nico Christodoulou, Arden VRD, +6.050 
11.    Souta Arao, Hitech Pulse-Eight, +6.338 
12.    John Bennett, Rodin Carlin, +6.660 
13.    Jarrod Waberski, Fortec Motorsport, +7.312 
14.    David Morales, JHR Developments, +7.907 
15.    Ayato Iwasaki, Elite Motorsport, +8.190 
16.    Edward Pearson, Fortec Motorsport, +9.038 
17.    Max Esterston, Fortec Motorsport, +9.464 
18.    Gerrard Xie, Hillspeed, +10.733 
19.    Daniel Mavlyutov, Hillspeed, +12.010 
20.    Lucas Staico, Douglas Motorsport, +12.461 
21.    Shawn Rashid, Douglas Motorsport, +13.343 
22.    Arthur Rogeon, Chris Dittmann Racing, +14.717 
23.    Joseph Loake, JHR Developments, +18.623 
DNF Callum Voisin, Rodin Carlin 
DNF Oliver Stewart, Elite Motorsport