GB3 race 3: Mavlyutov splashes to fourth win of the season in final Zandvoort contest

GB3 race 3: Mavlyutov splashes to fourth win of the season in final Zandvoort contest

15 October 2023

Hillspeed’s Daniel Mavlyutov claimed his fourth victory of the season in a safety car affected third race of the weekend at Zandvoort.

He started second on the grid, and held that position after an early safety car. But upon the restart he overtook pole sitter Patrick Heuzenroeder on the run to turn one, and then kept hold of the lead as the safety car was recalled when Heuzenroeder and fellow newcomer Jack Sherwood crashed out moments later.

The race finished behind the safety car, with Mavlyutov taking the flag ahead of Arden VRD’s Noah Ping, who started sixth, and Chris Dittmann Racing’s Arthur Rogeon, who blasted up to third from 10th on the grid.

David Morales took fourth for JHR Developments, but Rodin Carlin's Callum Voisin rebuilt his championship lead after surging from 15th on the grid to fifth despite the limited green flag running. 

Douglas Motorsport's Shawn Rashid took sixth place ahead of Rodin Carlin's John Bennett, with Fortec duo Jarrod Waberski and Max Esterson eighth and ninth, and Rogeon's teammate Zak Taylor completing the top-10. 

Voisin's fellow championship contenders Joseph Loake and Alex Dunne claimed 13th and 16th respectively from 21st and 24th on the grid. 

In rainy conditions, the race was full of drama from the start, as pole sitter Patrick Heuzenroeder held the lead off the line, but the race was almost immediately neutralised behind the safety car as Gerrard Xie and James Hedley crashed at turn three.

Upon the restart, Mavlyutov slipped up the inside of Heuzenroeder at Tarzan to take the lead, but the race was again put under safety car conditions as the Australian crashed at turn three, with fellow newcomer Jack Sherwood also going off on the approach to the corner.

With so little time remaining, the race finished behind the safety car, with Mavlyutov taking his fourth such win of the season, and Voisin stretching his championship lead heading to the final rounds at Donington Park next weekend. 

GB3 Championship, partnered by the BRDC, Zandvoort race three provisional result:
1. Daniel Mavlyutov, Hillspeed, 9 laps
2. Noah Ping, Arden VRD, +0.878s
3. Arthur Rogeon, Chris Dittmann Racing, +1.650s
4. David Morales, JHR Developments, +2.426s
5. Callum Voisin, Rodin Carlin, +3.072s
6. Shawn Rashid, Douglas Motorsport, +4.167s
7. John Bennett, Rodin Carlin, +5.379s
8. Jarrod Waberski, Fortec Motorsport, +5.621s
9. Max Esterson, Fortec Motorsport, +7.675s
10. Zak Taylor, Chris Dittmann Racing, +8.675s
11. McKenzy Cresswell, Elite Motorsport, +9.460s
12. Oliver Stewart, Elite Motorsport, +10.131s
13. Joseph Loake, JHR Developments, +10.441s
14. Matthew Rees, JHR Developments, +10.738s
15. Michael Shin, Hitech Pulse-Eight, +10.811s
16. Alex Dunne, Hitech Pulse-Eight, +12.823s
17. Souta Arao, Hitech Pulse-Eight, +13.716s
18. Tymek Kucharczyk, Douglas Motorsport, +14.249s
19. Nico Christodoulou, Arden VRD, +14.875s
20. Costa Toparis, Rodin Carlin, +16.583s
DNF. Patrick Heuzenroeder, Elite Motorsport, 5 laps
DNF. Jack Sherwood, Chris Dittmann Racing, 5 laps
DNF. Edward Pearson, Fortec Motorsport, 2 laps
DNF. Gerrard Xie, Hillspeed, 0 laps
DNF. James Hedley, Arden VRD, 0 laps