GB3 race 3: Mavlyutov clinches third victory of the season after escaping Brands Hatch drama

GB3 race 3: Mavlyutov clinches third victory of the season after escaping Brands Hatch drama

10 September 2023

Hillspeed’s Daniel Mavlyutov led from start to finish to claim his third GB3 Championship victory of the season in the final encounter of the Brands Hatch weekend.

He made a fast start and a great restart after an early safety car, finishing ahead of Arden VRD’s Nico Christodoulou, who started seventh, and Douglas Motorsport’s Lucas Staico who moved up from fifth.

Mavlyutov blasted off the line to lead the pack down to Paddock Hill, but behind there was carnage as front row-starter Shawn Rashid tipped Arthur Rogeon into a spin, while behind a separate incident accounted for Gerrard Xie, Souta Arao and Tymek Kucharczyk.

A lengthy safety car period followed, with the race resuming on lap five. Mavlyutov aced the restart to pull out a handy gap, while behind Christodoulou passed Staico to move into second, and Fortec's Edward Pearson moved past Christodoulou's teammate Noah Ping to take fourth. 

Michael Shin overtook David Morales on lap eight to claim sixth, while Zak Taylor (CDR), Oliver Stewart (Elite) and John Bennett (Rodin Carlin) completed the top-10.  

Up front though, Mavlyutov was seemingly untroubled until lap 13, when Christodoulou suddenly reduced the lead from 1.4 seconds to 0.591s. But the Hillspeed contender withstood the late pressure to take the flag half a second clear, and earned his third reverse win of the season.

There was drama in the championship fight too, as race one winner Joseph Loake sustained front wing damage early on, but was able to pit under safety car to replace it. He finished 15th having started 24th, while Rodin Carlin's championship leader and race two winner Callum Voisin extended his lead again after taking 14th from 23rd. 

GB3 Championship, partnered by the BRDC, Brands Hatch GP race three provisional result:
1. Daniel Mavlyutov, Hillspeed, 14 laps
2. Nico Christodoulou, Arden VRD, +0.551s
3. Lucas Staico, Douglas Motorsport, +6.675s
4. Edward Pearson, Fortec Motorsport, +7.161s
5. Noah Ping, Arden VRD, +8.464s
6. Michael Shin, Hitech Pulse-Eight, +8.981s
7. David Morales, JHR Developments, +13.921s
8. Zak Taylor, Chris Dittmann Racing, +15.438s
9. Oliver Stewart, Elite Motorsport, +15.843s
10. John Bennett, Rodin Carlin, +16.140s
11. Alex Dunne, Hitech Pulse-Eight, +16.367s
12. Matthew Rees, JHR Developments, +17.003s
13. James Hedley, Arden VRD, +17.647s
14. Callum Voisin, Rodin Carlin, +17.918s
15. Joseph Loake, JHR Developments, +18.445s
16. McKenzy Cresswell, Elite Motorsport, +18.612s
17. Costa Toparis, Rodin Carlin, +19.102s
DNF. Max Esterson, Fortec Motorsport
DNF. Jarrod Waberski, Fortec Motorsport 
DNF. Shawn Rashid, Douglas Motorsport
DNF. Arthur Rogeon, Chris Dittmann Racing
DNF. Gerrard Xie, Hillspeed
DNF. Souta Arao, Hitech Pulse-Eight
DNF. Tymek Kucharczyk, Douglas Motorsport