GB3 race three: Macintyre wins after last lap drama

GB3 race three: Macintyre wins after last lap drama

01 April 2024

Hitech Pulse-Eight’s Will Macintyre claimed his first GB3 victory in dramatic style in race three, as he took the lead with just seconds remaining at Oulton Park.

Rodin Motorsport’s Arthur Rogeon had led the entire race, but slowed dramatically on the last lap having rebuilt his lead after a safety car, with Macintyre capitalising on the exit of Shell Oils to claim victory ahead of Elite's Jarrod Waberski and Rodin's Ugo Ugochukwu.

Macintyre's teammate Tymek Kucharczyk climbed from seventh on the grid to fourth ahead of Rodin's championship leader Louis Sharp, who moved up from 12th on the reverse grid to take fifth, while teammate Rogeon salvaged sixth despite his woes. 

Seb Murray defied a slow start from the front row to take seventh for Chris Dittmann Racing ahead of Elite's McKenzy Cresswell, with Colin Queen (Fortec) and Gerrard Xie (Hitech) completing the top-10 in the final race of the event.

After a brilliant start from the second row, Rogeon had looked on course to take his first win in the series, after taking a handful of podiums last year. The Frenchman had built a lead of almost five seconds in the first half of the race, only for it to be nullified when pole sitter Patrick Heuzenroeder stopped on the approach to Island Bend, bringing out the safety car. 

Macintyre had begun closing on him before the race was neutralised, but Rogeon made a good restart with less than five minutes to go, and held a lead of over a second heading onto the last lap.

But halfway around the final tour, and with rain continuing to fall, Rogeon's car slowed dramatically allowing British F4 runner-up Macintyre to claim his first GB3 win at the end of his first weekend in the series. 

GB3 Championship, partnered by the BRDC, Oulton Park race three provisional result:
1.    Will Macintyre, Hitech Pulse-Eight, 12 laps
2.    Jarrod Waberski, Elite Motorsport, +4.082s
3.    Ugo Ugochukwu, Rodin Motorsport, +4.899s
4.    Tymek Kucharczyk, Hitech Pulse-Eight, +6.516s
5.    Louis Sharp, Rodin Motorsport, +7.059s
6.    Arthur Rogeon, Rodin Motorsport, +7.504s
7.    Seb Murray, Chris Dittmann Racing, +11.004s
8.    McKenzy Cresswell, Elite Motorsport, +12.980s
9.    Colin Queen, Fortec Motorsports, +13.898s
10.    Gerrard Xie, Hitech Pulse-Eight, +16.035s
11.    Noah Ping, VRD by Arden, +17.417s
12.    Edward Pearson, Fortec Motorsports, +17.720s
13.    Hugo Schwarze, Elite Motorsport, +20.861s
14.    John Bennett, JHR Developments, +21.704s
15.    James Hedley, VRD by Arden, +22.465s
16.    Flynn Jackes, Chris Dittmann Racing, +23.259s
17.    Rishab Jain, Chris Dittmann Racing, +32.045s
18.    Josh Irfan, JHR Developments, +33.623s
DNF. Shawn Rashid, Chris Dittmann Racing
DNF. Adi Kulkarni, Hillspeed
DNF. Patrick Heuzenroeder