Macintyre bosses opening day of Snetterton testing

Macintyre bosses opening day of Snetterton testing

08 May 2024

Hitech Pulse-Eight’s Will Macintyre was the driver to beat as GB3 testing at Snetterton commenced on Wednesday.

The British driver, who was won two of the first five races of the year, set the quickest time in each of the four test sessions today, with his session two effort of 1m40.664s being the outright best, and quicker than the official GB3 lap record at the circuit.

Macintyre was just over a quarter of a second clear of JHR’s John Bennett, who was second fastest in every session and the only driver to break into the 1m40s bracket, with his best lap coming at the end of the day.

Bennett’s teammate Josh Irfan was third quickest courtesy of his session four effort, a couple of tenths further back and a tenth clear of the second Hitech machine of Tymek Kucharczyk, who was another to record their best lap at the end of the day.

Jarrod Waberski was the lead Elite Motorsport runner in fifth, setting his best lap in session three, with the third JHR car of Patrick Heuzenroeder next up in sixth and just 0.028s behind with his session four time.

The third Hitech car of Gerrard Xie recorded the seventh best time today, again at the end of running, with the second Elite car of championship front-runner McKenzy Cresswell eighth courtesy of his session three lap.

Chris Dittmann Racing completed the top-10, with Seb Murray and newcomer Jacob Douglas both recording their best laps in session four, and within 1.4 seconds of the pace.

A total of 12 cars participated in the test, with Flynn Jackes (CDR) and Hugo Schwarze (Elite) completing the runners.

Testing resumes tomorrow (Thursday).

GB3 Championship, partnered by the BRDC, Snetterton Wednesday combined testing result:
1. Will Macintyre, Hitech Pulse-Eight, 1m40.664s
2. John Bennett, JHR Developments, +0.274s
3. Josh Irfan, JHR Developments, +0.486s
4. Tymek Kucharczyk, Hitech Pulse-Eight, +0.597s
5. Jarrod Waberski, Elite Motorsport, +0.841s
6. Patrick Heuzenroeder, JHR Developments, +0.869s
7. Gerrard Xie, Hitech Pulse-Eight, +0.971s
8. McKenzy Cresswell, Elite Motorsport, +1.339s
9. Seb Murray, Chris Dittmann Racing, +1.356s
10. Jacob Douglas, Chris Dittmann Racing, +1.399s
11. Flynn Jackes, Chris Dittmann Racing, +1.468s
12. Hugo Schwarze, Elite Motorsport, +1.919s